Question from Eric Goska for people who know scoring rules

Question from Eric Goska for people who know scoring rules

Postby JohnTurney » Sun Mar 22, 2020 7:43 pm

I've looked through the NFL's guide for statisticians and I don't see this as being covered. Wondering if you might know the answer.

Packers at Lions opening day 1978.

2-4-L30 Middleton runs for +3 [Detroit's Bailey and GB's Thompson were cited for unsportsmanlike conduct.]

No yardage was marked off. The penalties offset. The next play continued as if the penalties had not been called.

3-1-L27 Middleton +2 and FIRST DOWN.

The question: Should a penalty for 0 yards given to both Lions and GB on that second down play?

A similar situation occurred in the fourth quarter.

For the game, GB was listed as having 8 accepted penalties for 40 yards; Lions 9 for 31.

Is that correct or should it be 6 for 40 and 7 for 31 as the unsportsmanlike penalties called in 1Q and 4Q offset both times?
JohnTurney
 
Posts: 1531
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 1:28 pm

Re: Question from Eric Goska for people who know scoring rul

Postby TodMaher » Mon Mar 23, 2020 2:07 pm

Here is the CURRENT rules as per the person who currently manages the GSIS operations:

If offsetting penalties occur during a play, play stats for that play would be nullified. If offsetting penalties occur during a dead ball situation, play stats would count. In both situations, offsetting penalties do not count towards team penalty totals.

I say CURRENT, because in 1978 the scoring rules/interpretations could have been different.
TodMaher
 
Posts: 274
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 4:43 pm

Re: Question from Eric Goska for people who know scoring rul

Postby Dusty Sloan » Wed Mar 25, 2020 2:25 pm

As far as I know, there have never been penalties given in stats for offsetting penalties. It's always been nothing in the stats because they are offsetting, as far as I know.
Dusty Sloan
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 5:32 pm

Re: Question from Eric Goska for people who know scoring rul

Postby JohnTurney » Wed Mar 25, 2020 3:51 pm

TodMaher wrote:Here is the CURRENT rules as per the person who currently manages the GSIS operations:

If offsetting penalties occur during a play, play stats for that play would be nullified. If offsetting penalties occur during a dead ball situation, play stats would count. In both situations, offsetting penalties do not count towards team penalty totals.

I say CURRENT, because in 1978 the scoring rules/interpretations could have been different.


Thanks, will pass along to Eric
JohnTurney
 
Posts: 1531
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 1:28 pm


Return to Football Talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

cron